Lord Vishnu – Dashavatharam (Part – I)

An avatara is an incarnation, which that a god adopts a human form to be born on earth. The purpose is to destroy evil on earth and establish righteousness. Lord Vishnu is regarded as the preserver of the universe and it is therefore Lord Vishnu’s incarnations that one encounters most often. Lord Vishnu has already had nine such incarnations and the tenth and final incarnation is due in the future. [Read More]

Lord Vishnu–Dashavatharam (Part – II)

Varaha Avatara (Boar Incarnation) Lord Vishnu’s third incarnation was in the form of a boar. Sage Kashyapa and his wife Diti had a son named Hiranyaksha, who became the king of the asuras (Demons). Hiranyaksha’s meditation pleased Lord Brahma and Lord Brahma granted him the boon that he would be invincible in battle. Thus armed, Hiranyaksha went out to fight with the devas (Gods). He comprehensively defeated the gods and conquered heaven. [Read More]

Lord Vishnu – Dashavatharam (Part – III)

Vamana Avatara (Dwarf Incarnation) Prahlada’s grandson was Bali Chakravarthi and he was one of the greatest kings. Though he was a demon by birth, he never deviated from the path of Truth and Dharma (religious ethics). His power and strength kept on increasing as he has been following Dharma. With the help and advice of his preceptor, King Bali had conquered all the three worlds, and dethroned Indra from Heaven and occupied Amaravathi, the capital of Indralok. [Read More]

Lord Vishnu – Dashavatharam (Part – IV)

Lord Vishnu – Dashavatharam (Part – IV) [![OO2o4kTgOElXZx88CZ0u8-wlTqYK9XFcSRzr4aj zjy8pJ-uh7v5zu2 9p3gzt5A](/images/Vibhor/oo2o4ktgoelxzx88cz0u8 -wltqyk9xfcsrzr4ajzjy8pj- uh7v5zu29p3gzt5a.jpg)](https://vibhormahajan.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/oo2o4ktgoelxzx88cz0u8 -wltqyk9xfcsrzr4ajzjy8pj-uh7v5zu29p3gzt5a.jpg) “JAI SHRI RAM” ”जय श्रीराम” Lord Brahma came out of Lord Vishnu’s navel. Lord Brahma’s son was Marichi, Marichi’s son Kashyapa, Kashyapa’s son Surya, Surya’s son Vaivasvata Manu, Manu’s son Ikshvaku, Ikskhvakku’s son Kakutstha, Kakutstha’s son Raghu, Raghu’s son Aja, Aja’s son Dasharatha, Dasharatha’s sons were Rama, Bharata, Lakshmana and Shatrughna. Since Lord Rama was descended from Kakutstha and Raghu, he was also called Kakutstha and Raghava. [Read More]

Lord Vishnu – Dashavatharam (Part – V)

Lord Vishnu – Dashavatharam (Part – V) [![lord-krishna4263jpeg](/images/Vibhor//lord- krishna4263jpeg.jpg)](https://vibhormahajan.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/lord- krishna4263jpeg.jpg) “Jai Shri Krishna” “जय श्री कृष्णा” Lord Krishna was born during turbulent times in Mathura. Kansa, son of Ugrasena, audaciously disbanded the Yadava ruling council and declared himself dictator of Mathura with the support of his father-in-law, Jarasandha, the powerful king of Magadha. All those who protested were either killed or imprisoned. Kansa’s younger sister, Devaki had married Vasudeva. On the wedding day, oracles foretold that the eighth child born of this union would be the killer of Kansa. [Read More]

Lord Vishnu – Dashavatharam (Part – VII)

_ " yada yada hi dharmasya glanir bhavati bharata abhyutthanam adharmasya tadatmanam srjamy aham" -_ (Bhagavad Gita, Chapter-4) **Sri Krishna said - **“Whenever and wherever there is a decline in religious practice, O descendant of Bharata, and a predominant rise of irreligion–at that time I descend Myself. ** ” Praritranaya Sadhunam Vinashaya Cha Dushkritam Dharamasansthapnaya Sambhavami Yuge-Yuge. “** _ -_ (Bhagavad Gita, Chapter-4) Sri Krishna said - “In order to deliver the pious and to annihilate the miscreants, as well as to re-establish the principles of religion, I advent Myself millennium after millennium. [Read More]

Bhairava – A Fierce Manifestation of Lord Shiva

Bhairava is the fierce manifestation of Lord Shiva associated with total destruction. He is ornamented with a range of twisted serpents (as earrings), bracelets, anklets, and sacred thread (Yajnopavita). He wears a tiger skin and a ritual apron composed of human bones. Bhairava himself has eight manifestations: Kala Bhairava, Asitanga Bhairava, Samhara Bhairava, Ruru Bhairava, Krodha Bhairava, Kapala Bhairava, Rudra Bhirava and Unmatta Bhairava. Origin Of Bhairava - Once while travelling around the universe, Lord Brahma reached the abode of Lord Vishnu. [Read More]

Shri Hanuman Chalisa – Meaning

**** || श्री हनुमान चालीसा || दोहा (Doha) श्री गुरु चरन सरोज रज निजमनु मुकुरु सुधारि । बरनऊ रघुबर बिमल जसु जो दायकु फल चारि ॥ Shri guru charan saroj raj, Nij manu mukur sudhare | Barnau raghubar bimal jasu, Jo dhayak phal chare || “Before I narrate the divine glory of Sri Ramachandra, the most supreme in the Raghu dynasty, the giver of four fruits of mankind, let me first clean the mirror of my mind with the dust of Shri Guru’s lotus feet” [Read More]

Shiva Puran – Introduction

[![lord-shiva-chalisa](/images/lord-shiva- chalisa.jpg)](https://vibhormahajan.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/lord-shiva- chalisa.jpg) The Glory Of Shiva Puran The Puran itself is the creation of Lord Shiva himself, the mystical wisdom crafted in words, molded into one hundred thousand couplets or quartets (Shlokas), divided into twelve chapters (Samhitas); and first revealed in grace to the creator Lord Brahma who relayed it to his favoured son, Narada. Then, it was relayed on in succession to Sanat Kumara and Ved Vyasa. The latter condensed the massive volume into 24,000 shlokas categorised under seven chapters namely: [Read More]

Devaraja’s Tale – Shiva Puran

Long time ago, there lived a Brahmin named Devaraja in town of Kirantanagara. A very lax, unprincipled and degenerate life he lived. No bathing and no praying was the order of his day. He was lecherous by nature. It appeared that the sole object of his life was to make money and spend it on vice games to satisfy his carnal desires. He would not mind cheating others and creating misunderstandings between friends and relatives. [Read More]